This is the "Home" page of the "Database Apps" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database Apps   Tags: library, research  

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2013 URL: http://libguides.hgtc.edu/databaseapps Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Apps

The library purchases database subscriptions from a number of different vendors. Two of these vendors - Stat!Ref and Gale, offer free mobile apps for accessing their content.

 

Mobile Sites

Two additional database vendors have made their products available on mobile devices by simply redirecting you to a mobile version of their site. If you access Encyclopedia Britannica or any EBSCO database on HGTC library's Database list from your tablet or smartphone, you will automatically see a mobile-friendly version of it. EBSCO databases include:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • AGRICOLA
  • Alt Healthwatch
  • Applied Science & Technology Full Text
  • Auto Repair Reference Center
  • Career eBook Collection
  • Consumer Health Complete
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
  • Education Full Text
  • European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750
  • Fuente Academica
  • History Reference Center
  • Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts
  • Library Literature & Information Science Index
  • Literary Reference Center
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • Middle Search Plus
  • Newspaper Source Plus
  • NoveList K-8
  • NoveList
  • Points of View Reference Center
  • Professional Development Collection
  • Religion & Philosophy Collection
  • Science Reference Center
  • Small Business Reference Center
  • Teacher Reference Center
  • TOPICsearch
  • Vocational & Career Collection
 

Stat!Ref App

Stat Ref Logo

Create an account in Stat!Ref by clicking on "MyStat!Ref." Once you are logged in, click on Temporary Login Account and click "Activate/Renew." This gives you 90 day access to the mobile app, renewable with a single click.

On your mobile device, download the Stat!Ref app from the Apple or Google Play store. Open the app and select the option to login using "User Name & Password." Enter your "MyStat!Ref" account email and password and click "Logon."

 

Gale App

On your mobile device, download the AccessMyLibrary: College app from the Apple or Google Play store. Open the app and select South Carolina from the list of states. Then find Conway on the alphabetical list of cities, and choose Horry Georgetown Technical College. Next, click "View Gale Resources" to get into the database list. You may be prompted to "Update my resources." If so, just tap it to continue. You will be prompted to enter a password. Your password for AccessMyLibrary is hgtc. Once your password has been accepted, click on View Gale Resources again to choose from databases or eBooks. The following databases are available via the AccessMyLibrary app:

  • Academic OneFile
  • Biography in Context
  • Books & Authors
  • Business Insights
  • Educator's Reference Complete
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
  • Global Issues in Context
  • GREENR
  • Health & Wellness Resource Center
  • Health Reference Center Academic
  • Infotrac Newsstand
  • Kids Infobits
  • Literature Resource Center
  • Nursing & Allied Health Collection
  • Nursing Resource Center
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
  • Science in Context
  • Small Business Resource Center
  • U.S. History in Context
  • World History in Context
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip